Financial Advice

Navient Screws Over Disabled Army Captain With Loan Unforgiveness

Former U.S. Army Captain Christopher Meyer has a disappointing story to share about his experience with Navient. Like so many other veterans, Meyer suffered significant trauma while on active duty in Iraq. He went over there to help protect you and me and he returned only to be allegedly victimized by Navient.

Christopher agreed to share his story and with his documentation it would be very interesting to hear from Navient about how they wound up harming rather than helping this Army Veteran. And as Meyer discovered, while Navient proclaimed they “did not report veterans in default” it is clear from what Meyer has shared, they did. – Source

So here is the story of retired Army Captain Christopher Meyer and his battle with Navient. One thing is very clear after looking over the information Meyer shared, he is one of the better documenters I’ve ever seen. He has backup for all the allegations he made.

My Battle With Navient

I know you usually take questions from people who are struggling. I suppose what I am presenting to you is not necessarily a question, rather an issue; possibly both. Either way, this is an issue that needs to be brought into the light. Possibly, many others are experiencing or experienced a similar struggle.

This issue surrounds the actions taken by the student loan servicer, Navient. In summary, I had student loans before my disability discharge as a total and permanently disabled veteran. Navient doctored the dates of two old loans to make it appear these were post-discharge new loans. Bottom line, Navient wanted payment from me at all costs and attempted to take short-cuts at a disabled veteran’s expense, someone who served his country with honor. Navient never offered me any explanation for their actions; actions that had a negative impact on my creditworthiness and life. I believe the leadership at Navient is highly questionable to say the least. Unfortunately, Navient is an organization led by CEO John F. Remondi, someone with no principles, no sense of duty to people, no integrity, and lacks actual leadership.

The “short version”:

I took out student loans while attending Texas A&M University from 2001 to 2005. At the time, I was a cadet in the Corps of Cadets. A year after the terrorist attacks on 9/11 and much prayer, I signed an enlistment agreement September 2002 in the United States Army Reserves. The Army Scholarship I received paid for my tuition, and housing but did not cover all the student fees. I took out a few FFEL loans to cover the difference. One of the loans at issue was originated and disbursed in September 2004 and the second in January 2005. These two federal loans were later serviced by Navient.


National Student Loan Data System screenshot. First loan disbursed and originated in September 2004.


National Student Loan Data System screenshot. Second loan disbursed and originated in January 2005.

I graduated in May 2005. I commissioned in the active service of the United States Army and later served a tour in Iraq. While overseas I injured several discs and nerves in my back. I was later diagnosed with PTSD. These were the “top three” issues from my tour, there were other diagnosed service connected issues as well. I came home and filed a claim with the Department of Veteran Affairs in Houston, Texas. In January 2014, the Department of Veteran Affairs rated me as a “Total and Permanent” disabled veteran.


Screenshot from my January 23, 2014 VA Decision Letter.


Screenshot from Experian, the same day of my VA Decision Letter. January 23, 2014.

I sent the proper paperwork to the Department of Education and had many of my federal loans forgiven. However, the two loans from September 2004 and January 2005 were unfortunately being serviced by Navient. Navient did not process my request to have those two loans forgiven. In fact, Navient actually changed the original origination dates from “September 2004” and “January 2005” and gave the loans new, false dates. The new and incorrect origination dates were May 2014 and June 2014. These dates fell after my discharge date, further these dates were completely made up to give the appearance that I took out new student loans after my discharge.


This had the effect of dropping my credit score from “727 Very Low Risk” to “686 Fair.

My credit report further read:
1) Collection status
2) Default
3) “120 days late”
4) KD (Key Derogatory) status


Screenshot from September 29, 2014 credit report. Significant damage and fraudulently doctored “date opened” (loan origination/disbursement date) dates. By August 2014, I had “120 Days Late” and “KD” (Key Derogatory) status placed on my credit report.

I sent the proper evidence to Navient via Certified Mail Return Receipt Requested. I was able to have the negative information removed from my credit report. However, the back-and-forth with Navient took the greater part of ten months, and delayed my ability to move my family into a better, safer neighborhood. I had to send communications via certified, since I believed my other requests were just going into their trash can.


Navient is committing outright fraud. Literally, Navient changed the origination dates on discharged loans to after the discharge date. This had the effect of keeping me liable on forgiven federal student loans and destroying my credit. Again, this is outright fraud. Navient should be held accountable. I cannot imagine how many other disabled veterans had also been ensnared in Navient CEO John Remondi’s web of deception and fraud.

I hope that this story sheds some light on John Remondi’s failures.

Steve Rhode
Get Out of Debt GuyTwitter, G+, Facebook

If you have a credit or debt question you’d like to ask, just click here and ask away.

This article by Steve Rhode first appeared on Get Out of Debt Guy and was distributed by the Personal Finance Syndication Network.

Standard