Financial Advice

How Can I Find Work Online From Home That is Not a Scam?

Question:

Dear Steve,

I am 68 years old female. My husband just turned 70 we had a home we planned on selling our house for money to live on, but unfortunately we lost it to foreclosure before that happened.

Wells Fargo refused to take our payment that was late due to the fact that they had lost our paperwork. We took them to court and won. My attorney was shocked it was turned over after appeal court said we won by a lower court. My attorney is Korte and Wortman. Well, long story or not I lost I do not understand how.

I have no money to go on and would at least like to find a survey job online I AM IN A WHEELCHAIR and obviously that would be fine. My problem is looking on the internet they are all scams. Please try to help me if at all possible. We would really appreciate it. ANYTHING. Our social security is our only income 1400 and 900 dollars.

Alicia

Answer:

Dear Alicia,

I’m so sorry to hear about the loss of your home. I certainly can’t address the Wells Fargo mortgage modification issues since I just don’t have enough information.

It sounds as if your attorneys fought hard for you and battled this in court and on appeal. Sometimes the courts do strange things.

So let’s deal with the current situation. As I read it you are looking to make extra money working from home. And yes, as you’ve observed, many of the online jobs are scams. But this is certainly nothing new. If you think back to when you were much younger the desperate scams involved envelope stuffing and such.

Scams targeting disadvantaged people have always and will always exist. The only defense is to be a smart shopper. When you find a company you think you might work with, this might help – How to Check Out a Business or Company to Avoid Getting Scammed or Ripped Off.

You are caught in a difficult spot since I don’t know how technically proficient you are. For people who are technically proficient and have special skills there are a number of online websites where people can find work. These sites include Guru.com, Upwork.com, and Freelancer.com. There are of course many more as well but I have seen good results from those sites.

For less technically skilled home workers there are still opportunities. One site is FancyHands.com. They are looking for people who “have a fast internet connection and the ability to use common websites and software.”

For quick online grunt work that is mindless and probably totally boring, take a look at Amazon Mechanical Turk. Here is an article from someone who was working on Amazon Mechanical Turk and described their experience.

But sites I mentioned before offer data entry jobs you can bid on. Here is a list of current openings on Upwork.

While I’d love to tell you I’ve known a lot of people who made a bunch of extra cash doing online surveys, I just haven’t. But someone I do know just posted a list of survey sites he participates with to earn about $250 a month. You might want to read The 9 Best Survey Sites to Make Extra Money (+How I Earn $250/Month).

My big concern with taking surveys and filling out online forms is you have no idea where any personal information you might disclose will go. It will certainly be used for some sort of marketing so don’t be surprised to start getting calls and offers in the mail for stuff you never asked for and don’t want.

Good luck in your search and please post updates in the comments section to let me know what you find and what worked best for you.

Steve Rhode
Get Out of Debt GuyTwitter, G+, Facebook

If you have a credit or debt question you’d like to ask, just click here and ask away.

This article by Steve Rhode first appeared on Get Out of Debt Guy and was distributed by the Personal Finance Syndication Network.

Standard